book inscriptions project

Is All Science Based on Fact 

i really like this project whereby people send in inscriptions that they find inside books. if you’ve got some time to kill take a look at the site.

i don’t have many inscriptions on my books (but I wish I did) . however last week i had a book – which I had forgotten that I had owned – returned to me via a friend, who wasn’t the one who I lent it too in the first place. the book was called ‘the bad girl’s guide to the open road’ and was given to me when I was to take my first real backpacking adventure around europe.

so the book was about the practicalities of a road trip across america and probably wasn’t that useful to me. but it did bring back some great memories of that trip wandering around europe, where i discovered that life in the open road is much more interesting than living in the suburbs. and i havent looked back since. 

the gift of a book is not always about the words on the page, it’s often a physical reminder about time and place. and for people like me whose memories are really shit (ie, someone had to return a chinese language book to me to remind me that i did at one point learn chinese), that’s important.

2 Comments

Filed under books

2 responses to “book inscriptions project

  1. jen

    Ola you sexy librarian you!

    Thanks for the website update… that surfing book? Wish I knew it…. but I don’t… let me know if you rediscover it please…

    P.S. book you might like which I pointed out in Leederville was East, Pray, Love by Elisabeth Gilbert

    ciao ciao X

  2. thanks for reminding me of that book! ive given up on the surfing book. it’s 15 degrees here and im not in the mood to read about beaches right now.

Leave a Reply

