you do the math

i thought that my period of working 50 hour days was a thing of my dark past, until this week, where I am trying to get our budgets done. but of course they wont freaking balance.  im not very good at adding up and doing percentages so it takes me a bit longer than the average accountant.

my colleague, who is going through the same balance sheet hell as I am, today sent me the link to this site which has made my life marginally more bearable. refer to the calculator tools.  http://math.com/students/tools.html

and speaking of accountants, our middle aged payroll guy has this habit of doing a wander around the office once a week for a general chat with council staff.  to my surprise last week,  i discovered that he loves the contemporary american authors – john updike, phillip roth et al. he said that he enjoys updike in particular because of the surbia that he writes of. i think every male can identify with rabbit angstrom in some way, and it brings them comfort in knowing that they are not alone.

Leave a comment

Filed under books, library

Leave a Reply

